

## The Network of Universities of Small Countries and Territories (NUSCT) calls on Technology companies to be linguistically inclusive

On occasion of the **Network of Universities of Small Countries and Territories** 4<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting held at the University of Greenland, in Nuuk, Greenland, member universities' rectors expressed concern at the absence of minority languages, in general, and languages native to members' countries and territories, in particular, from applications produced and marketed by Tech companies employing Artificial Intelligence;

deeply worried that this neglect might further endanger the survival of minority languages, and, consequently, of minority cultures of non-sovereign peoples, amongst others;

recalling declarations such as the Universal Declaration of Linguistic Rights (*The Barcelona Declaration*), adopted at the World Conference on Linguistic Rights, Barcelona, 6 - 9 June 1996, and the Proclamation for the Protection and Promotion of Linguistic Diversity of the World (the *Yuelu Proclamation*) adopted at the International Conference "Role of linguistic diversity in building a global community with shared future: protection, access and promotion of language resources", Changsha, 19 - 21 September 2018, amongst numerous other international manifestations in defense of minority languages;

NUSCT rectors, therefore, unanimously agreed to collectively and individually lobby international technology companies to abide by the recommendations such as the ones contained in the aforementioned declarations in the design of applications employing Artificial Intelligence, and to make provisions for the inclusion of minority languages such as those of some of NUSCT member countries and territories.

**Network of Universities of Small Countries and Territories** members, furthermore, also agreed to request that similar actions be undertaken by their respective governments, international multilateral organisations and international university associations.

Nuuk, 3 May 2022

**NUSCT** (<u>www.nusct.net</u>) is a European network to enable universities in small countries and territories that share similar characteristics and contexts to establish collaborations, share strategies and best practices, and have a unified voice in international fora.

The following universities are members of NUSCT:

- o <u>Háskólinn á Akureyri (University of Akureyri)</u>
- O <u>Universitat d'Andorra (University of Andorra)</u>
- o <u>Fróðskaparsetur Føroya (University of the Faroe Islands)</u>
- o <u>University of Gibraltar</u>
- o <u>Ilisimatusarfik (University of Greenland)</u>
- o <u>Universität Liechtenstein (University of Liechtenstein)</u>
- o L-Università ta' Malta (University of Malta)
- o <u>Univerzitet Mediteran (Mediterranean University)</u>
- o <u>Univerzitet Crne Gore (University of Montenegro)</u>
- ο Πανεπιστήμιο Λευκωσίασ (University of Nicosia)
- o Università degli Studi della Repubblica di San Marino (University of the Republic of San Marino)